If the crash was the other driver’s fault, then his or her insurance company is responsible for paying for the damage to you and your property. California law requires all drivers to have liability insurance, but the minimum limits of $15,000 may not be enough to compensate you fully.
Additionally, some individuals choose to drive without insurance despite the law. In those cases, it will be necessary to look at the other options discussed below in order to make sure that you are taken care of after a crash that was not your fault.
When you purchase car insurance, you have the option to purchase uninsured/ underinsured coverage. This additional coverage often does not cost very much, but can provide a substantial benefit to you in the event of a crash. Uninsured coverage will protect you if the other driver does not have insurance. Your own insurance company will pay to cover your property damage and personal injuries, up to the amount of uninsured coverage you purchased.
Underinsured coverage can be used if the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover all of your damages. For example, if the other driver had the California minimum of $15,000, and your damages amount to $25,000, your underinsured coverage may kick in to provide the additional $10,000.
Some car crashes are caused by the condition of the roadway itself. For example, some roads have curves that are much too sharp for the posted speed limit, causing drivers to lose control. Other roads have been designed or maintained in such a way that they frequently flood, which causes drivers to hydroplane and lose control.
Governmental entities sometimes fail to properly maintain roads, which can result in the disappearance of lane lines, poor lighting, or other conditions that lead to collisions. In cases where the road is dangerous due to its design or poor maintenance, it is appropriate to hold the governmental entity responsible for the collision.